top of page
Search
  • linloudrake

Water - the life line in West Texas

Living in West Texas the primary source of life is access to water. Naturally there is a underground water source here through the aquifer which provides life to the living on the plains. Many a water well has been dug here for hundreds of years to survive. Back in the days on untamed lands there were also plenty of playa lakes and occasionally some creeks and rivers. These days though, that aquifer is extremely low shutting off farms and access to this life flow across several areas of these flat lands. The extreme droughts come and go, usually staying longer than invited, and further dry out our lands here. Thus, the occasion to find water in flowing creeks and sustainable lakes is precious, it is life to us.

Photographing such an occasion is a special one. I drive by these little playa lakes not thinking once of it's life cycle nor really paying much attention to it. But on occasion it will rise up to such beauty that I can not longer ignore it's existence and stop to catch a snap or two of it on my camera. One of the photos in this ramblings is proof of such occasion.

I happened upon this serine perfect picture at dusk of a little playa lake close to my home. The clouds were amazing, the colors devine, and the water so still. I parked and started to walk toward the ideal spot to get the shot and what out of the corner of my eye do I see? A duck! Flying low, who just happened to land smack dab in the middle of my smooth water. I guess he found it as pretty a picture as I did. His landing then cast a tidal wave of ripples across my serine smooth lake surface. Dad -gum! I took the shot anyways and to my surprise that duck did me a favor, he cast such ripples that the water took on this crazy pattern of pink across the surface reflecting the light from the clouds. Alright duck, you're forgiven.

My advice from this experience? Look around, stop and catch those pictures, do not think you will have another chance. In a moment notice a duck could fly in and land on your peaceful picture and mess it up with a tidal wave. Take the shot anyway, you may never know what will come out of it.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page